Reviews

What people are saying about The New England




Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

What a great couple of nights at The New England.Despite the chilly and rainy weather, we really enjoyed ourselves with such great hosts.The room was immaculate and comfortable with the added bonus of a sea view and balcony:delicious breakfast and cosy bar/lounge area.We've already booked to return.Thank you Brid and Derek.

Reviewer:Diane N | Sun 6th Oct 2019 | 4 days ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Brid and Derek made our stay very pleasantLovely Irish couple, nothing too much trouble,made our stay a pleasure

Reviewer:Laurette M | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 1 week ago


Delightful excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

We have just had a perfect 2 nights here. the bed was very comfy, the decor throughout is lovely with a seaside theme and the hosts were brilliant,couldn't be more helpful. They provided a superb breakfast and friendly welcome. I really enjoyed the balcony, seaview and illuminations along the road.Really recommend The New England

Reviewer:Martin D | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Wonderful week - Rating 5/5

We were greeted by a lovely couple Brid and Derek with tea and cake, from then on everything was perfect our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable and a bright and sunny breakfast room to enjoy a superb food..we were well looked after. Than you.

Reviewer:Hazel C | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

we have been received very warmly. the room was neat and clean. The entire guesthouse looked very nice. The breakfast was very generous

Reviewer:J G | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast is great and the hosts are very warm and helpful! We surely would recommend this place!

Reviewer:An V | Tue 10th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


EAST COAST MARITIME- Rating 5/5

It is very near to all the town centre. The couple who run The New England are very welcoming. Its ideal for the bus routes and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay and its as the description says. The breakfast is excellent.

Reviewer:IVAN T | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Very lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay for 2 nights,easy to find and situated right on the seafront with easy access to all the sights. The hosts were very welcoming and enjoyed a lovely fresh scone on arrival. Room was lovely with a comfy cosy bed and was spotless. The choice for breakfast was one of the best we have had and was freshly cooked to order. Would definately recommend a stay and we will return on our next visit to Eastbourne.

Reviewer:Stephen M | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

What a pleasure to stay here.Derick and Brid certainly know how to make you sooo comfortable

Reviewer:Ian L | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Chris & Peter - Rating 5/5

It would be hard to find a better couple to run a B&B/Hotel than Bridget and Derek. The B&B itself is in a great spot , very clean and nice and cosy.. They do a very good job and run it very professionally .Very warm couple and they made our young grandchildren feel very special. Would 100% recommend The New England to everyone .Thank you for making our stay extra special too . Peter loved the DIY barx

Reviewer:Christine P | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

Arrived Friday 23rd August for a two night stay to be greeted by the new owners Brid &Derek.They are truly amazing, so friendly &made this the best stay we have at at the New England.Room 4 with the balcony was very clean &tidy with lovey views of the sea.Fully cooked breakfast was to die for but there was also lots of alternatives.Loved it and am going back with my mum end of September so she can meet the lovely Irish couple Brid &Derek who couldn't make you feel anymore at home.I would 100% recommend this as the best guest house I have every stayed in.

Reviewer:Kerry S | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Erg fijn verblijf!- Rating 5/5

Een mooie locatie, uitzicht op de zee en op loopafstand van pier en centrum. Eigenaren heten je van harte welkom en zorgen ervoor dat je je snel thuis voelt. Echt een pluspunt! Verder een mooie ruime slaapkamer (wij hadden een balkon) welke stijlvol is ingericht. Ook de ontbijtzaal is prachtig met gezellige woonkamer en bar. We zouden hier graag een keer terugkomen.

Reviewer:Daan van S | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Outstanding hospitality- Rating 5/5

From the welcome to the farewell I received warm and personal attention . My attractive bedroom was well appointed, clean, quiet and comfortable.Breakfast was always a treat, the buffet had a wide selection and the hot food was delicious. Thank you New England, my host and hostess, for an excellent,exceptional six day stay.and throughout my stay

Reviewer:Jane Y | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


super gemütlich und seh freundliches Personal - Rating 5/5

Wir hatten einen wunderschönen Aufenthalt in dem sehr gepflegten und liebevoll eingerichtetem Hotel. Die Besitzer sind sehr herzlich und die Lage top. Für Familien mit Kinder ist die Lage auch sehr gut. Bushaltestelle vor der Nase, Spielplätze (indoor und outdoor) um die Ecke! Sehr zu emphfehlen.

Reviewer:Verena S | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Amazing hospitality- Rating 5/5

We know Brid and Derek from their days as pub landlord and landlady and they were always so warm and welcoming. They have now taken their amazing hospitality to new heights and created a wonderful home from home. The New England is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated in a tasteful seaside theme. There is a lovely lounge to relax in which has music gently playing in the background. The dining room also looks over the seafront.We are both vegans and we were catered for so well at breakfast, with delicious products going over and above the norm! We loved our stay and will definitely be returning. Thank you all at The New England!! 😁😁😁

Reviewer:Gemma K | Sat 24th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Very friendly and very clean - Rating 5/5

Bree and Derek were super friendly, always smiling. The room is CLEAN, even with my very high OCD standards. location is awesome, food is great. A very friendly atmosphere all around the building.

Reviewer:Erno I | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Amazing! - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place and beautiful people! The New England is a breath of fresh air! The breakfast was amazing, lots of fresh fruit and a beautiful cook breakfast! Derek and Brid went above and beyond to ensure we had the perfect stay with them! Highly recommend this BnB and will definitely return at some point!

Reviewer:Katrina B | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

We had a short break at the New England in June. The facilities and breakfast were really excellent and along with friendly and helpful hosts made this an extremely good holiday.

Reviewer:Brian F | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


The House of fun. - Rating 5/5

A Truly pleasureable and memorable stay at an excellent B&B, The staff, food, accommodation, premises, and the price;were all second to none. We were very sad to leave, because, in the staff, we had made new friends, and have already discussed an elongated stay for next year. We thank you very, very much. Denis and Angela.

Reviewer:Denis C | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

The absolute nicest staff who make you feel at home and take very good care of you. The location is great as it is walkable to everything but not right on top of the hustle and bustle. Room was clean and roomy.

Reviewer:Nicholas B | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Three nights in Eastbourne. - Rating 5/5

Everything was absolutley perfect!The host couple,the room,the breakfast and the location. We'll be back for sure!

Reviewer:Jimmy J | Sun 7th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic 3 night stay in room 2, which was much bigger than the pictures look. The room was lovely, beautifully clean and bright. Derek and Brid were really friendly hosts who made us feel welcome and at ease. The breakfast was truly delicious! We really couldn't fault it. A fantastic little business, thank you! Would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Reviewer:Hannah W | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Exceptional service - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay in a very clean and comfortable room, which was compact but had everything we needed. Brid and Derek generously did all they possibly could to make our visit enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was delicious, fresh, plentiful and excellent quality. The New England is the best B&B we've ever stayed at and highly recommended.Thanks very much Brid and Derek, we'll be back!

Reviewer:Agathoniky H | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


A week of sun and tennis! - Rating 5/5

The addition of this most comfortable and welcoming guest house made a big difference to our first experience of the tennis international in June. It was great to know we had thoughtful and welcoming hosts plus a comfortable room overlooking the sea on our return from a hard day watching top flight tennis! The breakfast choice is extensive and generous and all efforts are made to satisfy individual dietary needs. The lounge is small but very comfortable. This is a traditional seaside guest house offering excellent value and a modern approach to the service it offers. Brid and Derek ( owners ) deserve every success.

Reviewer:Fiona P | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

Bird and Derek made us feel very welcome on our arrival ,Very clean rooms and comfortable beds ,Lovely breakfast good selection of Fruits yogurt and cooked breakfast,Will highly recommend to family and friends well done New England !

Reviewer:Julie V | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent Two Days in Eastbourne- Rating 5/5

The New England is a first class B and B, newly decorated, with very attentive and friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were generous and well prepared. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Alan G | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely Accommodation - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The New England and were made to feel totally 'at home' in a very friendly environment. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were great. We hope to visit again in the future.

Reviewer:Jillian L | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Brid and Derek are very kind and motivated hosts and the room was very nice with all amenities.Breakfast was delicious and of best quality.We felt very welcome, thank you!

Reviewer:Manfred N | Sat 22nd Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


What A Find! - Must Have Been Fate - Rating 5/5

Booked a 2 night stay the morning before arrival for the end of May b/holiday weekend.Our room being the double with side sea view. Brid and Derek were the perfect hosts, nothing being too much trouble, going over and beyond.Everything is spotless,food was superb being plenty of it too.If you are thinking of booking do not delay. Brid and Derek took over only about one month ago and I can see that word of mouth will travel quickly,and the nine rooms will book quickly in the future. We will certainly recommend to our friends and working connections.Well done both of you, warm, kind and very thoughtful people which is hard to find.We will be back!!

Reviewer:Sharon W | Tue 28th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Fantastic in every way - Rating 5/5

We took our 4 year old here for a BH long weekend and we were really impressed:Excellent room, facilities, location. The hosts were the warmest people you could hope for who took care of our every need, including my daughter's request for a cup of tea upon arrival:) Breakfast also fantastic. We'd highly recommend you go here!

Reviewer:Julie A | Tue 28th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Return to the New England - Rating 5/5

All the things we loved about the New England are still there.The lovely rooms,with a stylish seaside theme,the comfortable beds,TV,and unlimited tea,coffee, and biscuits galore. Our bathroom had a great shower and a bath, thoughtfully well stocked with pretty toiletries and big fluffy towels.Only now the New England just got even better.Now it has Derek and Brid.Lovely Irish hosts who instantly make you feel welcome,and go out of their way to make your stay special.And the cooked breakfast is back!We knew it would be good.We have Irish relatives! It was fantastic.Plenty of choice,locally sourced ingredients, all beautifully cooked, and a truly generous plateful.Derek and Brid have years of experience in hospitality, and it shows.At the end of our holiday, we hadn't just had a wonderful stay, we felt we had made two new friends.Oh, and one more thing.There's a bar coming!Jenny and Rick.

Reviewer:Jennifer S | Mon 27th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Visit 17,18 and 19 april 2019 - Rating 5/5

Nice people, did give usa warm welcome..Lovely rooms, Good breakfast.We did have a very Nice weekend!

Reviewer:Johan D | Tue 21st May 2019 | 4 months ago


Great Stay in Eastbourne - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay atThe New England.The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable. The hosts could not have been more accommodating, with daily bulletins of “What’s on in Eastbourne” to “nothing being too much trouble” . The food was great, locally sources and there was lots of it.

Reviewer:Andy G | Mon 20th May 2019 | 4 months ago


FANTASTIC B&B- Rating 5/5

This was our third stay here and our first with the new owners.Absolutely fantastic and always our first choice when visiting Eastbourne. Lovely clean comfortable rooms, lovely dining room and the breakfasts are the best, quality ingredients cooked to perfection and a great choice of cereals, breads and fruit etc. something for everyone.The new hosts are super friendly and professional who make you feel really welcome.We will definitely be returning next time we are in Eastbourne and wish you all the best in your new venture.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Alison E | Wed 15th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent - You come to Eastbourne ? Stay here - Rating 5/5

Everything was just perfect :warm welcome from Brid &Derek, always available to help us to find a place to eat or to go for a walk, great breakfast, no need to have lunch after it.the family room was just perfect for us (2 adults and 2 teenagers) and perfect location at 10 mn walks from the center of Eastbourne.We will probably be back soon.thanks again Brid and Derek for everything.

Reviewer:Cecile de C | Thu 9th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Fantastic place to stay! - Rating 5/5

The property is very clean and tidy, with beautiful views looking out to sea which is only across the road. Highly decorated, lovely soft carpets and lots of space for clothes in the wardrobe and draws. Bathroom very clean and shower was easy to use. There was a range of tea and tasty biscuits in the room with water and a very handy corkscrew with wine glasses if you fancied a bottle of wine.The reception we received on arrival was exceptional, we felt like we had known Derrick and Brid for years. They have recently obtained a license for a small bar and we were the first to receive a complementary drink.Breakfast was very tasty, we helped ourselves to the variety of cereals, fruit and drinks laid out each morning and ordered a delicious full English breakfast from the menu which was lovely and hot.

Reviewer:Darren F | Mon 6th May 2019 | 5 months ago


relaxing and friendly- Rating 5/5

lovely and cozy place with very clean rooms and amazing hosts. had a very relaxing stay.

Reviewer:Christos K | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

Super place to stay for a few nights.Thenew owners were fabulous and catered to our every need. Breakfast was excellent well above the usual standard. Would highly recommend this hotel. We will be back!

Reviewer:Susan s | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

wonderful atmosphare, very clean and well decorated rooms, excellent breakfast. all together we would come again.

Reviewer:ingrid b | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 12 months ago


Besser geht es nicht!- Rating 5/5

Alles Perfekt und wunderschön!

Reviewer:Lucie R | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 12 months ago


Eastbourne bliss - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have just returned from our first trip to Eastbourne which was bathed in sunshine. We were fortunate to choose the New England Hotel for our 3 night stay. It's conveniently situated for all amenities and has fabulous views out over the sea. Our d/room was spotless and extremely comfortable. Proprietors Doreen &Mario were the perfect hosts, who went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. We can highly recommend the New England and will be back there before too long.

Reviewer:James D | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 12 months ago


the new england - Rating 5/5

excellent stay in every respect thank you

Reviewer:julian s | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Very nice hotel, neat and tidy, friendly helpful owners, nice breakfast, very good located - Rating 5/5

I can recommend this very nice hotel without any ifs and buts.The owners are very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and nice decorated. The breakfast has all I needed. A good fresh coffee, eggs fresh cooked or fried, juices, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits...Nothing to complain, much to recommend.Thank you for the hospitality.

Reviewer:Daniel Dr. S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A perfect getaway - Rating 5/5

Our stay at The New England was perfect - comfortable room and delicious breakfast. The owners were very helpful in every way.

Reviewer:I lance S | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Exceptionally good - Rating 5/5

We recently spent four nights at The New England while visiting a relative in Eastbourne.The hotel is located opposite the Redoubt Fortress Museum, heritage café and promenade. Eastbourne pier, seafront gardens and shopping centre are easily reached on foot. The free parking is on-street and we were always able to park right outside the hotel.On arrival we were warmly greeted by Doreen who showed us to our scrupulously clean and tastefully decorated room, with a balcony overlooking the Redoubt gardens and sea;she also brought us fresh milk for our tea – much appreciated! Lots of nice touches in the room and en suite and a really comfortable bed.The breakfast room and guest lounge are comfortable, beautifully themed and spacious. The breakfast buffet offered all the usual cereals and breads plus lots of fresh fruit, home-made compote and perfectly cooked eggs. Both our hosts were, helpful, humorous and friendly. Although for some of our stay the hotel was pretty full, it was always quiet and relaxing. Thank you so much Doreen and Mario, we hope to stay with you again and will certainly recommend The New England to our friends.

Reviewer:David W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


superb! - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, spotlessly clean and thoughtfully furnished with delicious breakfasts.Very friendly and welcoming staff and first rate customer care.Recommend unconditionally

Reviewer:Ann B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Eastbourne visit - Rating 4/5

Good facilities, good location and friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Ian S | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

We spent 2 nights at The New England and were very impressed by the clean, comfortable room and tasteful décor. Mario and Doreen were very friendly and helpful and there was a good choice at breakfast. The location of the hotel is ideal.

Reviewer:Jeanette H | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


New England - Rating 5/5

This B&B lived up to its usual high standards.Happy to recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Alan R | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - staying in Eastbourne? Stay here!! - Rating 5/5

Stayed a couple of nights here as s summer short breakAmazing hotel. Extra touches for gluten free were much appreciated.The hotel is tastefully themed and is a pleasure to stay here.We highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:V E | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Relaxation- Rating 5/5

A very comfortable and relaxing Guest house. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was enjoyable and satisfying. Altogether a great place to stay. Would love to return once again.

Reviewer:Georgeos H | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A perfect stay - Rating 5/5

What can i say. Such a pleasant and relaxing stay is a real exception! Friendly owners, very good breakfast and a perfect room. Our next visit will surely lead us again to the New England!

Reviewer:Daniela F | Thu 2nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


One Of The Best - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay, always look forward to returning.

Reviewer:Annette F | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A Gem of a Find - Rating 5/5

Without a doubt one of the best Guest Houses we have had the pleasure of staying at. Very welcoming and friendly hosts. Immaculately clean and comfortable accommodation and a superb continental breakfast. Hosts are attentive and helpful and let you enjoy their property without being intrusive. Walking distance to local attractions, and restaurants. We made good use of the tourist passport which offers discounts and incentives. We will definitely return and can certainly recommend to others. Thank you The New England :)

Reviewer:Ian D | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend Getaway - Rating 5/5

Very clean and nice hotel. Bot hosts were very attentive. Would recommend and definitely stay again if in Eastbourne.

Reviewer:Darren S | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


10/10 - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the New England hotel this week for 3 nights while I was working. It was a very comfortable room with all facilities, very clean and bright. The owners were very attentive, helpful and chatty. I found the hotel clean and spacious and very quiet even though there were other guests. I would definitely stay here again in an instant.

Reviewer:Geraldine Allen P | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Felt at home - Rating 5/5

Lovely B &B with very nice and friendly owners who did everything to make us feel welcome. Very well kept and clean place.

Reviewer:Andrea B | Sat 9th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


excellent hospitality by owner - Rating 5/5

both husband and wife were very nice and they did excellent job

Reviewer:Mr. Reza E | Fri 25th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


New England stay 9th to 11th June - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome at the New England who accommodated us checking in later than the normal time . There was also a little mix up with the booking for our little boy but the hotel accommodated us. Lovely room and sumptuous breakfast a lovely short break near beach and play adventure facilities for young children. Fantastic ! Thank you New England.

Reviewer:Anita W | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Exceptional - Rating 5/5

Warm and Friendly welcome and throughout our stay.Excellent breakfast, clean and lovely room.Would highly recommend to anyone, and look forward to returning again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorna R | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Our stay at New England - Rating 5/5

Lovely very clean and cosy room friendly staff x apologies for over sleeping and being understanding that we set alarm wrong. We are gutted missed the breakfast as we have read is very good but have to admit one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in so made up for missing breakfastxx

Reviewer:Michelle K | Sun 11th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Fabulous accomodation! - Rating 5/5

Beautifully set up and maintained place - great owners - lovely breakfast - pretty decor - all round comfortable - thank you!

Reviewer:Lois J | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Short stay break - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable short stay. Made to feel welcomed. Breakfast was great....plenty of choice to accomodate all tastes. Room was comfortable &clean with complimentary tea,coffee &biscuits. Will definitely go there again.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs L | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Two nights stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and i had an enjoyable stay. We was made to feel really welcome,even with my husband as he had a injured leg,the room was so accommodated for us being on ground level. Nothing was to much trouble for Doreen and Mario with a cheery smile always. The room was clean to a very high standard, breakfast was lush. We have booked for another two nights stay in August.

Reviewer:Mrs Lisa S | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable stay, great family run hotel - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a welcoming, very pleasurable stay. Great food and enthusiastic hosts. Hope to return one day.

Reviewer:Kirsty R | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Delightful stay - Rating 5/5

A thoroughly delightful stay, with very thoughtful owners.

Reviewer:Ian S | Thu 1st Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


26th May 2017 - Rating 5/5

No issues apart from finding a place to park my small car but this would appear to be a generic Eastbourne problem. Breakfast was perfect and room was up to what I have become used to while travelling extensively overseas for the past 50 years.

Reviewer:Ken B | Tue 30th May 2017 | 2 years ago


New England - Rating 5/5

Our short break in the the New England hotel was a great success. The couple who run it are very pleasant, the room was comfortable and clean and the location is convenient. Recommended.

Reviewer:Richard B | Mon 29th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Do not miss it - Rating 4/5

The best breakfast I have ever had and The couple is really Nice and helpful.We will GO back one Day !CheersJulie

Reviewer:Julie B | Sun 28th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice cosy hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was exactly like in the pictures, clean and lovely decoration. Our room was the small double room with rear views and it was cosy and perfect for our night in Eastbourne. The owners were really nice and chatty. Would totally recommend it.

Reviewer:Cristina E | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 2 years ago


What a nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

This was a return visit for us, and the experience was as good as ever. Friendly, welcoming, relaxed, comfortable, and excellent breakfasts (and it's well situated). Fresh milk in the rooms was a nice touch, and Doreen's homemade compote for breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Peter D | Mon 8th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

The New England is a lovely B&B right on the front at Eastbourne.The room we had, room 4, is lovely, great view on the seafront.The rooms are really light and airy and so clean.When we checked in we were given milk in case we wanted to make our own drinks in the room.Check-in and check out was easy and we enjoyed a really good breakfast in the morning.The only change I would recommend is that a 9.30am breakfast cut off seemeda little early, I would understand any other day but Sunday 10am would have been good. To be honest I don't think it would have been an issue if we had arrived a little late, so it really is only a small issue!! Otherwise it was a perfect stay.

Reviewer:Jackie C | Mon 8th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Very well presented. Lovely staff. Great breakfast in a relaxed environment. We will return.

Reviewer:Alan T | Thu 4th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay... - Rating 4/5

I had a lovely one night stay at New England .The place was run nicely. I managed to check in early. The place had a good atmosphere and the owner were very friendly. Would love to come again and stay .Thank you . Candy

Reviewer:Candelaria C | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Thomas - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Very well presented. Lovely staff. Great breakfast in a relaxed environment. We will return.

Reviewer:Alan T | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Mr & Mrs pennock - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay lovely welcome and breakfast was scrumptious would recommend a lovely place to stay

Reviewer:Geraldine and Stuart P | Mon 1st May 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent all round - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.Everything was first class and Mario and Doreen were perfect hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. steven w | Mon 1st May 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended. - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and enjoyable stay in a BnB well run by a friendly, helpful couple.

Reviewer:Steve T | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time here at the New England, it was a surprise visit to Eastbourne for my Mother's birthday over the Easter break.The owners were fabulous and made us feel very welcome, they even brought out a surprise birthday cake with candles for my Mother.Lovely place, clean and very well kept, so happy I chose this place. Perfect !

Reviewer:kirti m | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely, clean, fresh hotel. Breakfast was great everything you could want, slightly different every day. I will definitely be coming back

Reviewer:Beth N | Tue 25th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Very nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed there in a very cosy room. The room is very clean. The staff are very friendly. They provide very good english breakfast and brilliant coffee. If you are looking for something comfortable but not fancy. This is a very good choice.

Reviewer:YANLING L | Thu 20th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect choice! - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much it was a really nice week!

Reviewer:Carsten E | Thu 20th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Eggcellent Easter stay - Rating 5/5

Everything about our two night stay was wonderful, we had room four with a lovely balcony over looking the sea. Doreen and Mario were excellent hosts . The breakfasts were tasty made with quality ingredients,Will defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:Susan S | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


new england - Rating 5/5

Room was lovely,clean and bright,with nice balcony to sit on,buffet breakfast very good,the owners were very helpful,and doing a wonderful job ruuning of the new england,its my second time there since they took over.

Reviewer:Michael M | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


visiting eastbourne - Rating 5/5

fanstasic stay at the new england,everything was perfect,looking forward to go back

Reviewer:Fons C | Sat 15th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Mr- Rating 5/5

Beautiful place very friendly &nice people

Reviewer:Mahmoud E | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful hotel - Rating 5/5

Beautiful decor, clean, welcoming and a great breakfast selection, thank you Doreen and Mario.

Reviewer:Helen M | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Fab place - Rating 5/5

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights.We had a great time...... Course the weather was great as usual.... As promised by the hosts.The room was very pleasant, clean and fresh and more amenities than needed. Sea view which was a bonus.The breakfast was superb. Coffee lovely even with my odd request.The hosts were very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area.Will definitely stay there again

Reviewer:Lesley P | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A perfect weekend... - Rating 5/5

Lovely bedroom, delicious breakfast and... a warm welcome, as always...!

Reviewer:Stilmant D | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


New England Eastbourne - Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the New England for a 3 nights break in late March 2017.Having not stayed at this hotel for 5 years, we were very pleased to find it provided the same attractive and tasteful decor, with a few noticeable improvements which resulted in a very comfortable and relaxing stay. Doreen and Mario were wonderful hosts, helpful and very friendly and with their delicious breakfasts, made our stay a very special one. We will be returning as soon as we can. Rowland and Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Rowland B | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely weekend break - Rating 5/5

Fantastic B&B in great location on the sea front. Doreen and Mario were very welcoming and could advise us on walking routes and restaurants. Breakfast had everything we wanted (big fans of the fruit compote). Highly recommend, we will be returning!

Reviewer:Miss. Faye H | Tue 21st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful and relaxing place to stay, excellent quality breakfast, coffee was fab! Hosts were very helpful and welcoming. Scenery was another plus. Thnks. Aldo and Claire.

Reviewer:Aldo D | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and found the accommodation and breakfast very good and staff friendlyhowever, we felt a small table was required next to the chairs for drinks.

Reviewer:Mr. Mr & Mrs Thomas| Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


New England Hotel. Eastbourne. - Rating 5/5

Lovelyclean and comfortable hotel. Beds excellent. Breakfast very good and lots of choice. Opposite beach at a quieter end of seafront.Would stay again and highly recommend. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Pauline C | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


New England Hotel. E - Rating 5/5

Lovelyclean and comfortable hotel. Beds excellent. Breakfast very good and lots of choice. Opposite beach at a quieter end of seafront.Would stay again and highly recommend. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Pauline C | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

A lovely comfortable Guest House Hotel. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Huge bed in room 5. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:Frederick B | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


weekend for Battle of Hastings Reenactment - Rating 5/5

Great Hotel that is clean, bright and conveniently situated for Eastbourne, Hastings and the surrounding area. We stayed for 2 days for a local event.Lovely Owners too.. Highly recommended...

Reviewer:Daniel P | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful days at The New England - Rating 5/5

Dear Mario &Doreenthank you so much for this short but really lovely time in your nice &very cosy hotel. We followed your trip recommandation and enjoyed the walk to seven sisters.We will often remember to these wonderful days.Warm regardsElke &Richard

Reviewer:Mr. Richard G | Sun 16th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Marvellous ! - Rating 5/5

We had a very fine journey at the New England. Doreen and Mario were excellent :very friendly and looking after a comfortabel accomodation. We will certainly recommend them !

Reviewer:Mr. Dhondt B | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


New England Visit October 2016 - Rating 4/5

Would highly recommend The New England. The room was bright, clean, nicely fitted out with crisp white cotton bed linen. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and beautifully presented. The owners were welcoming, helpful and keen to please. Overlooking a sea front garden it has easy access to town, pier and shops.

Reviewer:Jasmine E | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Entirely pleased - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was in a good location. It was clean. The room was airy and the bed comfortable. The breakfast wasgood. The owners were charming and helpful.

Response

Thank you!

Reviewer:Douglas H | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Absolutely great! - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 5 day break early September. Could not fault anything - immaculately clean, fantastic position on beachfront for all amenities, fabulous breakfast, etc.The owners Mario and Doreen welcomed everyone warmly and made us feel like old friends.They went out of their way to assist with any queries. We wish them the best of luck in this new venture and we will definitely be returning.Thank you!

Reviewer:Mrs. Penny B | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Really comfortable room, property beautifully decorated, friendly hosts and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Catherine B | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Just the tops! - Rating 5/5

We spent a very enjoyable week in Eastbourne at The New England. The room was excellent and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was of a very high standard with everything you could wish for. The owners were most welcoming and friendly, with nothing too much trouble. We would highly recommend this b &b to everyone.

Reviewer:Peter J | Sun 18th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect Stay- Rating 5/5

Few days by the sea and was lucky to book into the New England, Doreen &Mario are perfect hosts , our stay was perfect in every way , beautiful clean room with lovely balcony and sea view, lots of little touches in the room that add to making it special, great location as only a 20 min stroll to the Pier.Breakfast was excellent , offering full English and continental , endless coffee &toast . Only wish we could have stayed longer !We will be returning again.

Reviewer:Sharon L | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was nicely situated on the sea front,i had room with balcony and sea view, made the stay excellant,room was lovely and clean and spacious, the breakfast was very good and plenty of choice hot or cold items,the owner and his wife were very friendly,making stay even better.

Reviewer:Michael M | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time at The New England, easy walk to town and pier. Beautiful Guest House amazing value for two nights.Spotless room with all the niceties.Breakfast great choices - beautifully cooked couldn't ask for more. Will be back - its worth 5 stars.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham K | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


The New England. Eastbourne - Rating 4/5

Wonderful few day stay at the New England. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Rooms and accommodation was excellent. Very comfortable lounge and dining area. Would recommend

Reviewer:William D | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Time out - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and a very friendly reception from our hosts. An attractive bright breakfast area with an extensive selection of choices. Cross the road to the 'Redoubt' for a stroll in the seafront gardens.

Reviewer:Ian C | Sat 3rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


2 night family room - Rating 5/5

The hotel was perfect, the room was lovely and very clean.The breakfast selection was excellent.The owners were very nice and extremely helpful.We were very happy staying here and did not want to leave.

Reviewer:Cindy G | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Very nice hotel, very friendly staff - Rating 4/5

The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was excellent. Only minor point is the small room and bed but this is compensated by the friendly staff :-)

Reviewer:GEERT G | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


short stay in august 2016 - Rating 5/5

we arrived to be met by Mario and him and Doreen were the perfect guest house hosts very friendly very accommodating and very helful.Our family room was lovely with a sea view and this helped, Eastbourne is very relaxing and perfect for a few days. Mario recommended an Italian and the Marine pub both were good but the Marine was superb.Would love to visit again and would return to the New England

Reviewer:Andrew C | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


New England- Rating 5/5

Thank you Mario &DorrenWe enjoyed our four nlghts b/b with you both and your lovelygirls.We loved the roomthe breakfast was the best we have ever hadSohealthyNot a bit greasy alsolovely fruit &cerealsthank you for looking after Terry with hisgluten free dietyou exceeded our expectations will definitely be back. Thank you love Bet &. Terry SeagraveNottinghamx

Reviewer:Betty S | Sat 13th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Summer Break - Rating 5/5

Booked on line and just what we wanted. This new venture by the owners is heading for great things. Both are very friendly and mingle well with their guests. Bedroom wasas expected clean, tidy and well presented-chocs on pillow on arrival was a nice touch! Bed-being a large queen bedwas very comfortable and our room had access to the front balcony which had a sea view with table and chairsfor reading morning papers.Breakfast was buffet style with a great range of deliciousfood, fruit, cereals, yogout for continental and a selectionof hot items for the English breakfast, all very tasty!We will definitely be returning as soon as we can.All the very best to you all and thanks for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry M | Fri 12th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Very nice accomodation with sea view and delicious breakfast - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice stay in The New England! The owners were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The English breakfast was really good with fresh fruit and juices and a lot more. This is a place you want to come back to!

Reviewer:Annika D | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Pleasant break - Rating 4/5

It was our first time at this hotel. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our room was tastefully decorated and clean. The breakfast offered a large variety of hot and cold choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay.

Reviewer:Kay M | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Doreen and Mario went above and beyond our expectations during our stay, my husband was working and had to leave early both mornings we were there so they made a bacon sandwich for him, wrapped up, to go! The rooms were so clean and fresh and the breakfast was delicious! I would not hesitate to recommend and we will definately be returning when we can!

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. CraigH | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays